Kanagawa Explorations

I’ve been itching to get out exploring for weeks … with my work deadlines behind me it was finally time for my next adventure.   The weather was immaculate. Making what I thought would be a dark little adventure, a summerlike stroll in the countryside. Another 6 hours of walking in total … I could’ve come here by car if I wanted to. But I prefered to explore on foot, and at my own pace. I’ll need some time for my blisters and cuts to heal though. This was the first place I found.

A nameless and unidentifiable mountainside building. This road was full of factories and industrial estates … so this would have been part of that industry at some point. There may have been some kind of factory production going on at the bottom level at some point, but there wasn’t enough remaining machinery to piece anything together. I made my way to the back entrance through 50 metres of bushes. Entry to the top level would’ve been possible if I was willing to traverse the trecherous floorboards. But I could see the building had mostly been cleared out, making it an unworthy risk. On to the next location.

There’s not much left of it, but here are the charred remains of a local ryokan inn. This nameless inn lies next to a local school … children played in their grounds just across from me as I explored. Only the basic foundations and a few walls of the inn remained. Fire-damaged tatami mats squelched like mud underneath my feet. Piles of cushions sat next to burnt out office chairs and black wooden beams. The front entrance steps led to nowhere. There were spiders everywhere too, and I began to get annoyed by constantly walking into their webs, face first.

The ryokan was also next to a huge dumping ground, my last stop of the day. Around twenty vehicles of various types were dumped here … some used for graffiti practice, some completely absorbed in the undergrowth. I took some time out to peruse the smashed up bus.

The bus, like most of the vehicles there was full of BB gun pellets. Some of the seats had been ripped out to be used outside. The bus was also rocking a less than modern 8 track casette player, so it must be a couple of decades old. The most impressive/shocking part was the central area … a veritable graveyard of electrical items.

I tried unsuccessfully to capture the whole area in one shot … but you can see the rough size of the area here. As with televisions, you have to pay to dispose of your refrigerator in Japan. I’ve observed that people here are usually honest and law abiding in most areas of society. In remote Haikyo-strewn locations there is usually a lot of dumping though. Mountainsides littered with televisions. Nothing quite like this though. If anyone needs an argument against the current disposal laws, then this is the place. I continued my way through the bushes and brambles. Computers, bicycles, animal corpses, baby toys. All of them thrown off the edge of the road, to tumble down the hill and slowly rot.

Leave a Reply

